Doctor of Pharmacy Degree

The doctor of pharmacy program at the Ben and Maytee Fisch College of Pharmacy is a four-year professional doctorate degree program from which graduates will earn a doctor of pharmacy degree (Pharm.D.). The first three professional years are primarily based in the classroom and laboratory on campus at UT Tyler. The fourth professional year is an in-depth practice experience where students learn at pharmacy practice locations with community practitioners and faculty members.

Team-Based Learning

The Ben and Maytee Fisch College of Pharmacy will use an approach to classroom teaching that is different from the methods most students have encountered. Rather than having courses taught using traditional lectures, pharmacy students will actively engage in their learning by spending classroom time solving problems as part of a team. Students will come to the classroom prepared to work on cases related to the pharmacy profession and solve them using critical thinking and communication skills. This method of teaching and learning greatly enhances comprehension of the content and the ability to use that content to immediately solve meaningful problems. More information about team-based learning can be found on Ben and Maytee Fisch College of Pharmacy website (

Prerequisite Coursework

Successful completion of a minimum of two years of prerequisite coursework is required prior to starting the first professional year in the Ben and Maytee Fisch College of Pharmacy. The prerequisites are currently in development. Please check the UT Tyler website for the most current information regarding the prerequisite requirements (

Accreditation Status

Information on the College of Pharmacy accreditation status is available at:

This program will be available “pending approval by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.”